KKC05

During this time of year, it’s very difficult for me to find time to create outside of work, but I vowed to honor my commitment to my Ka-Pow sisters!!!

So here is this week’s installment of the Ka-Pow Kreative Challenges at Carrie Gaskin’s Artist Avenger blog… however somehow I made it harder for myself than necessary.

The week is a colour challenge – I have discovered these are my favorite – and this one is a gorgeous combo.

KKC05-oops!!

I had to do a card for a top realtor at RE/Max in Richmond and thought Over the Top oops… Up, up and Away would be a great stamp set because of the hot air balloons.

I was quite happy with the way it was coming together then it hit me… OH NO… I used Poppy Parade instead of Real Red… oohh nooo, can you imagine? Plus I used a ‘retired’ strip of sticker border from a Simply Scrappin kit … double OH NO – how could I?? So I had to scratch this one and start again.

Back to the drawing board… and this is what I came up with on the 2nd go round… uuggghhh.

The REAL KKC05

With the 2nd card I decided to go back to the holiday theme and also wanted to do a hybrid card.

On a Sahara Sand base, I stacked another piece of cardstock stamped with the wood grain stamp with Sahara Sand ink, layered a strip of Real Red cardstock as well a block of Not quite Navy, Bashful Blue and Whisper White.

In my editing software, I ‘stamped’ the evergreen swag from the MDS Christmas Lodge brush set and kept rotating it til it made a wreath-like looking design; then printed off the block and attached it on top of the ‘blues’.

Ink blended w/Crystal Effects

Almost a yr ago, Carrie showed us this fun technique of adding ink to Crystal Effects which I repeated here to make the lil ‘baubles’ on my wreath and then glued on a bow of twine.

For the sentiment, I used Curly Cute in real red craft ink, clear embossed it then popped on a couple Vintage Trinket brads.

What do you think>>> let me know… then do a card up yourself in these stunning colors and join us in the challenge,

Thx tons for looking and letting me know what you think,

CaroleM