KKC04 Sketch

This week’s challenge over at Carrie Gaskin’s blog, her Ka-Pow Kreative Challenge is a sketch with a large element with a strip accent (or 2) behind it.

I have been so inspired by everyone’s holiday cards in the galleries nowadays, but sadly I never send cards out during the season due to my severe time restrictions, and therefore never MAKE holiday cards  – however in the middle of October I DO have time to do something seasonal. 🙂

I created this poinsettia with the scriptie leaf stamp from Faith in Nature. I stamped it ON and IN Cherry Cobbler then cut out a few. Once trimmed, I gave each one alil spritz of water to soften the cardstock so I could pinch and form the petals easier.

Stamped Petals

I stamped the flourish twice from Best Friends in Chocolate Chip ink on Whisper White, sprayed the paper block with our SmoothSpritz then inked the edges with brown. I layered the petals to create the flower in between the 2 flourish images and attached a couple little punched circles; reg and scallop to the middle of the flower.

I stamped a holiday sentiment banner from Pines and Poinsettias in Daffodil Delight then, shockingly and painstakingly, cut it out and attached it under one of the petals. I also stamped the holly berries from the same set to a Vintage Mini Tag, attached it to a “Carrie” corner with a Vintage Tricket safety pin and then topped it off with alil folded piece of striped grosgrain ribbon.

I then adhered the white mat to a distressed Chocolate Chip brown mat and both of them to a Daffodil Delight full card form  – wonder where this unusual colour combo  came from… our Colour Coach, of course…it really gives you the courage to try new things, by showing you that it’s OK because Stampin Up! has already proven that they work.

KKC04 Holiday Wishes

What do you think – unconvential Holiday colours I know…but I think it works and will definitely STAND OUT on someone’s mantel or desk during the holiday season.

Come on over to Carrie’s blog to join the challenge. I have really loved seeing everyone’s interpretations of each challenge – just so inspiring. Come and join us!!

Big hugs and thanks for stopping by,

Carole

