Drawer of Starters (partially done pages)

With so many amazing products constantly being released for scrapbookers, it’s easy to spend more time scanning online shops and blogs ‘ooohhh-ing and aahhh-ing’ vs actually scrapping however as I mentioned previously I recently discovered that I have over 80 layouts in some state of incomplete… that is just ridiculous and needs to change.

Another pile to be done

Because I get bored easily and it takes me sssooo long to complete each layout (I have to find the most perfect button or the best matching ribbon etc), I am totally over it before the page is completed PLUS I am more excited about new layout concepts I have, ideas for recent photos taken AND using new products that I have bought… sadly it has been really easy in the last 4 yrs to push things off to the side and start on new stuff all the time.

In the last couple weeks, I have started to complete old layouts as well as some major projects that have been sitting around way too long. Layouts aren’t taking me as long now because I have fully embraced the statement “Done is better than PERFECT”

When I dream, I see Africa

So the following are a couple completed ‘oldies’ I am happy to place in an album and move on…

I have had this idea and pictures hanging around for a couple of years but when StampinUp released their SaleABration paper packs in February I knew they would match perfectly… and since I ended up with 3 full packs of these paper, thank goodness I was right. I also sewed a few of the layers – still not 100% confident with my machine but happy to keep trying.

Great night out at Bin36

This one has been 1/3 done since 2008. I had an idea to cut an acrylic sheet in the shape of a wine glass… originally I wanted to just create a subtle background for the wine themed page but then I realized it was too subtle, my photos were too dark and even though I wanted to incorporate a couple wine corks…it just wasn’t working so>>> it sat for 4 yrs.
I decided to back the cut sheet with paper, top it off with another coordinating sheet but also trace the glass design with paint so it would show up better. I had a bit of a paint oopsie in the corner of my main photo so it became the perfect spot for alil embellishing. I also couldn’t blend the journalling successfully into the design because it was quite long so I wrote it on a tag and tucked it behind a photo.

Alil close up

These photos were from a fun night out with Mom (for her 60th b-day) in Chicago but also wanted to create a page commenting on how much fun Mom and I always have when we go out for our special dinners.

I used some older Making Memories papers, the chipboard numbers were crackle painted, some Basic Grey brads and the wine rub-on are actually from the $1 bin at Michael’s.

A Real Hobby

I made this photo strip awhile ago and had no real plan for it  – then a GF saw it on my craft table and commented “aahh You and your camera” which made me think of how much I am loving photography nowadays and really trying hard to get better. Photography is the first REAL hobby I have ever had – -so thought I should do a page about it.

I used a die cut from StampinUp, some old dictionary paper, Bazzill cardstock, an embossed Ranger tag, more stitching…still learning, AC thickers, Recollections gem flourish and Mister Huey spray.

THREE down… slowly getting thru the pile.
(most typos corrected… thx MOM)

