So tomorrow I am off to my very first Stampin’ Up Convention in Salt Lake City, Utah with Carrie and Diane: where we will meet up with Kristina and everyone else from our ‘group’. I think everyone else have been to previous Conventions so I hope they are ok with me learning everything for the first time and knowing NOTHING!!!

One of the MUST DO’s at Convention is make a card to SWAP with …gulp…not my strong suit. So I signed up for an organized swap of 51 people with SUDSOL (sort of a support group for new Stampin Up demonstrators) and made another 30 cards to swap with the general population. I am super excited to participate but also super nervous about it. EVERYONE has prepared me for the ‘rotten apples’ -the card swap snobs; the card judges etc… – the people who judge your card before taking it and about the people who don’t accept each card with grace and gratitude  – you who KNOW ME know I will NOT be OK with this if I witness it. So this could be a test.

Strips of Paper waiting to be attached

I prepared my card SIMPLY …I wanted to use products I had on hand and also wanted to add a digital component…since all I regularly do is hybrid and its still fairly new to SU gals.
However I had no idea how much I would dislike making 80 of the same card…lol…by the end, I was miserable. TONS of pattern paper strips, way too MANY stupid lil leaves to glue down….annoying black stamped floral centers that needed to be held by tweezers…. uugghh are you kidding me???

The back of the card was created digitally with the delicate doilies file with each image shrunk to 52%percent to mimic the actual stamp set. Attached across the center was solid Old Olive cardstock as well as Daffodil Delight and Black pattern paper both cut a smidge smaller than the Old Olive. A small block of Whisper White was matted with Black Cardstock with a decorative corner punched out. I then stamped a couple doilies attached a couple sets of branches with leaves punched out from Old Olive as well as a punched stamped circle in black.

It was a clean and simple design – a very ME card & hope everyone that gets it likes it but if not, I hope they can cover it up 🙂 for their own sake!! hahahaha

See you in a week, and thx for checking in,
Carole

