My First Swap Offering

I am super excited (code term for ‘nervous’ and freaking out) about my first swap. While a couple of you may recall my 1st Shoebox Swap last year (which yes, was a disaster) and may ask…How is this different and why the hell would you do it again?

The Shoebox Swap is when you take the components of a card or gift item YOU designed and show others at the meeting how to recreate it so that they can teach others at a class or event they host. Well, this type of swap is when you create a certain number of the exact same card and send them (usually snail mail) to a Swap Coordinator to distribute to all other participates – the purpose is to receive a large variety of card samples to use in your ‘stamping’ portfolio to show others some cards using a variety of StampinUp products but apparently, the real purpose is for FUN!!

However if you know me AT ALL, opening myself up to creative criticism is not even alil FUN for me… especially in a genre where my confidence is close to the basement as is, but this swap isn’t a face to face one as is the norm at conventions, upline events and many other SU gatherings so if I can’t see people’s judgements and disappointment -then in my mind, it didn’t happen…yep, me and denial are besties 🙂

Swap_closeup

SO I signed up… and here’s my card.

The criteria was to use a stamp set from SUs new Summer Mini  and swap with follow Canadian demonstrators only.
I used the new Travel Log set (which I love), Old Olive, Real Red and Marina Mist Cardstocks and Ink, Perfect Polka Dots Embossing Folder, Mini Library Clips and the Scallop Trim Border Punch (oh and of course the patented “carrie corner”)

It was very stressful but honestly alil fun. I was happy I only had to do a few… can you believe that people do 100-200 for convention and 15-30 for monthly regular meetings (of the EXACT same card or project) …that’s a level I am not sure I could ever reach or have any desire to reach…we now how short my attn span is. 🙂

Thanks for checking in,
Carole

